Toast w/o a toaster!

8 Jul

Okay, so I realize that my life would be a lot easier if I would just buy some pots/pans, but I am too cheap to spend the money for the next month & a half of living here.  So, I will just continue to get creative with my meals & see how it goes!

Now this seems like a no-brainer to me, but I mentioned it to someone here and they thought it was a great idea… instead of putting bread in a toaster, just make it on your panini press (or the oven really, but if you can’t leave it unattended like here, it defeats the purpose of a quick breakfast!)

Well I made some yummy toast today & topped it with apple butter I got at the local farmers market yesterday! It was delicious, and I definitely prefer supporting the local economy more than big bad Walmart, which is unfortunately my grocery store here (honestly, it’s fine for everything else, but I think I can sometimes get better deals at Giant or even Wegman’s for groceries — not to mention things are more fresh at real grocery stores).

Well, I’m off to work where I can count on at least one meal to add some variety to my diet (or not… they’ll probably serve chicken…)

WE ARE…hoping this rain clears up so I don’t have to walk up the hill in a downpour.

Leave a Reply

