Cheeseburger & Fries Casserole

21 Nov

Hey everyone! I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend!

For this week’s LION BITE, I wanted to share with you a recipe I made earlier this week for a potluck dinner that I hosted: Cheeseburger & Fries Casserole.  I know, sounds amazing, right?  That’s because it is!  It’s stick to your bones American deliciousness all in one 9×13 pan!  I love anything that can be thrown together in a baking dish or crock pot and be ready with very little attention from me when I’m having a busy week.  This recipe is one I found in my Better Homes & Gardens: 9×13 The Pan That Can Cookbook

What You’ll Need:

  • 2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 10.75 oz can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 10.75 oz can cheddar cheese soup
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese
  • 1 20 oz bag of frozen french fries
  • various seasonings: garlic salt, paprika, seasoned salt & oregano

 

Start off,  by browning your ground beef in a large pan with the garlic powder and finely diced onion.  I split mine into two batches because it was easier to brown that way.  Then I dumped it into a 9X13 baking dish (ungreased).

I mixed the two cans of soup in a bowl until they were well blended & poured this over the browned hamburger, then mixed in 1/2 cup cheddar cheese to the whole thing.

I like well seasoned fries, so I cut the top of my bag of frozen fries & seasoned with garlic salt, paprika, seasoned salt & oregano, closed the top of the bag and shook it up.  Then I just topped my burger & soup mixture with the french fries and baked in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

After 45 minutes, I added the leftover 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese to the top & put it back in the oven until the cheese was melted.

 

This was simple, fairly inexpensive and very well liked, especially by the guys, at the potluck!  Definitely give it a try for one of those nights you’re craving burgers but comfort food all at once!

 

WE ARE…happy to be home for Thanksgiving break.

One Response to “Cheeseburger & Fries Casserole”

  1. licious74 December 20, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Wow, this sounds like a recipe I tried except for the fries it was Tater Tots and there was also corn involved. Yums!

Leave a Reply

