Pineapple-Fried Rice

18 Oct

Some of you might remember my post about Ginger’s from my trip to the Big Apple in August.  Those of you that read that blog post, probably remember how much I raved about my meal there: Pineapple Fried Rice w/Chicken.  I’d never heard of it before, but took a chance and fell in love! Well…I really enjoyed it at least!  For awhile I’ve been wanting to recreate this dish, so after finding some canned pineapple in my while grocery shopping in my parents cupboards (what can I say? I’m a broke college student!) I decided I was going to go for the win and give it a try minus the chicken to make a vegan fried rice.

I looked up a recipe online, which you can find here, & gathered up the necessary ingredients.  To make fried rice, you should typically make the rice the day before (great way to use up leftover white rice!), but since I didn’t really plan ahead, I just stuck mine in the fridge for an hour (uncovered).  After an hour passed, following the recipe I added oil & soy sauce to my rice, and set it aside.

Veggies & Cashews

Next I heated up a pan with a thin layer of vegetable oil until it got hot and added my cashews.  Instead of using fresh garlic (which I’m sadly out of), I added garlic powder instead.  I let the cashews cook for a minute with the garlic powder before next adding about half a bag of Wegman’s Frozen mixed vegetables (mine had green beans, carrots, corn & peas). Then I stir fried these vegetables for about minute.  I chose not to add the egg (to keep this a vegan friendly dish!), but if you were going to do that (typically there is an egg in fried rice), this would be when you do it.

My next step was to mix in the canned pineapple (drained) to the pan, then the rice with soy sauce.  I kept stirring the rice until it made popping sounds & then I served it up in a nice big bowl! YUM!!!!

 

Next time I will definitely try it with the chicken because I loved that.  I will also maybe try using the egg next time as well.
My only tip for this week, is definitely use the cashews! That is what makes this so yummy!!!

WE ARE…recreating Ginger’s on Fashion Ave!

Leave a Reply

