PSU Creamery: Arboretum Breeze

21 Sep

So as class let out early, I found myself with some extra time today and decided to stop by the Creamery for a snack.  As a was sitting by the window, wasting time, I noticed a new (at least I’ve never seen it before)  flavor on the board: Arboretum Breeze (For those of you that don’t know, PSU recently built an Arboretum near the Dickinson School of Law).  Intrigued, I decided to check it out.

The sign describes the flavor as: Mint Flavored Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Chips & Raspberry Swirl…

Sounded…strange.  But since I have a gift card, and it was such a nice day, I decided to give it a go!  As a loyal fan of WPSU Coffee Break, this was a huge step for me.


The flavor combo initially reminded me of Valentines Day.  I like chocolate & mint and chocolate & raspberry, so I personally thought it worked for me. It is, in all honesty, kind of strange, but also very delicious.  While I initially tasted all three flavors in each bite, the mint flavoring seemed to shortly become overpowered with the sticky raspberry sauce.  The chocolate chips are similar to those in Coffee Break, being more flakes than typical chocolate chips, and the raspberry swirl is very very sticky and sweet.  Although I was disappointed in the disappearing mint flavor, this was all in all a good choice. Even though it doesn’t measure up to my lovely Coffee Break, I would definitely recommend giving it a try if mint & chocolate or mint & raspberry is your thing.

Overall grade? I’d give it a B+

WE ARE…lovin’ The Creamery!

Leave a Reply

