My First Attempt At Zucchini Bread

12 Sep

Time for another baking adventure! And when I say baking adventure, boy do I mean it! This was my first ever attempt at zucchini bread and it was quite interesting!
To start off, the adventure, we had two people using our tiny kitchen (like two wide) at once! My roommate was attempting fried rice in her new wok and I was trying to get my ingredients together for zucchini bread on the island.

I started off my recipe with a bowl full of my dry ingredients, thinking that I wanted to cut the whole recipe in half.  So I did all of the math, down to the 1/8 tsp of something for every single dry ingredient (flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt & sugar).  That went fairly smoothly (minus spilling some things — I can’t bake without making a mess).  Then I moved on to the liquid ingredients in a separate bowl, and of course, I forgot to cut everything in half! So I had to go back again and add in another half to all of the dry ingredients!

When I got the zucchini grated (2 cups ~ 1 large zucchini) I added it and the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.  I poured it into a loaf dish sprayed with nonstick spray and put it into a 350 degree oven.

Halfway through I started getting worried because it didn’t seem like the center of the bread was cooking through but the top was definitely getting pretty brown.  I didn’t want it to burn, so of course I called my grandma (who knows everything about baking & cooking – in my opinion) and she told me how to fix the situation (aluminum foil, shiny side up).

Really I was probably just worrying prematurely, because it still had awhile to bake, but I really didn’t want to mess it up!

It ended up turning out great! Moist & delicious 🙂  So there it was, I finally made zucchini bread by myself (with one teeny tiny phone call to grandma!) and I am proud of it!

My Tips:

  • If you’re going to split the recipe in half, write it down with it split in half and follow that so you don’t flub up like I did!
  • It would probably be better to actually follow the recipe and split the batter into two pans so you don’t have to worry about it not cooking through like I was (I only own one loaf pan though!)
  • Always have your grandma on speed dial if you’re going to try to make anything you’re unsure of!

You can find the Paula Deen recipe I used here, but any zucchini bread recipe you find should be similar.

WE ARE…  still proud of this baking adventure!

Leave a Reply

