Grilled Potatoes with Cheddar Cream Cheese Sauce

8 Aug

I have a ton of ideas running through my head for new food creations for this blog, but today I decided I would try to make due with what I already had here instead of running to the grocery store (going to NYC next weekend! Gotta save some cash!).  Of course this left me puzzled, because as a college student eating of a meal plan for the summer, I don’t have a whole lot in my apartment.  I wanted to do a grilled veggie pouch (hopefully another week!) but without going to the store it would just be boring carrots & potatoes.  This left me searching the web for something new to try with potatoes.  Thanks to Paula Deen & Food Network, I found the recipe for Grilled Potatoes! I love cheese on everything (and especially love cream cheese with potatoes), so to make it a little more interesting, I decided to try and come up with a cheddar & cream cheese sauce.

Following the recipe, I cut two potatoes (for myself) into 1/4 inch slices & boiled until slightly cooked, but still with a raw center.  While they were boiling, I put some olive oil on low heat in a sauté pan with some fresh thyme to coat my potatoes with (olive oil is healthier than butter — Sorry Paula!) & grated 1 1/2 cups cheddar.  After the potatoes were “boiled” I coated both sides with olive oil, garlic salt & pepper and put them on the grill until cooked through.

For the cheddar cream cheese sauce, with nothing really to go on, I started it out out like cream cheese Alfredo sauce.  First a roux (equal parts flour & butter) & add in 3 unrounded tablespoons cream cheese, whisking as you go.  Then I added a dash ofWorcestershire sauce, nutmeg & a dry mustard (still whisking). After removing the sauce from the heat, I whisked in the grated cheddar until smooth.

To plate, I put a few heaping spoonfuls of the cheddar sauce onto the plate & topped with my grilled potatoes so I would get a little bit of sauce in every bite then garnished with fresh thyme.


My Tips:

  • Baste the potatoes with butter using a pastry brush to get nice char marks (following Paula’s recipe)
  • Season the potatoes to your liking whether it be thyme like I used, just salt & pepper, or anything else you like!
  • If you don’t want to make your own cheddar cheese sauce, you could melt down some Velveeta or another cheese sauce like you would put over steamed broccoli!
  • Try grilling other kinds of vegetables too!

If you want to make grilled potatoes, check out Paula Deen’s Recipe: Here

WE ARE…really getting a lot of use out of the grill this summer!

One Response to “Grilled Potatoes with Cheddar Cream Cheese Sauce”

  1. scarletsculturegarden August 20, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    I’ve made this in the past: it’s really tasty but I think it’s really simple to make as well, so it’s a double-whammy of goodness!

Leave a Reply

