Pizza autentica di Margherita

11 Jul

Today began adventure numero uno in my kitchen.
What started of as a lazy day around the apartment turned into a pizza adventure.  I’ve been craving some yummy pizza for the last few days but I am SO sick of the same old frozen pizzas & even my beloved Pizza Hut.  I was really in the mood for something a little closer to authentic Italian, and thus the Margherita Pizza Adventure began.

I got the basic idea/guideline from a Tyler Florence recipe then headed over to Giant to pick up the necessary items.

Shopping List: Pizza dough or dough mix, fresh mozzarella, 1 can of whole peeled tomatoes, thyme, basil, oregano, garlic and some Roma tomatoes

So I ended up with this generic Betty Crocker pizza dough mix (I was feeling adventurous but not enough to really make my own dough an a lazy Sunday!).  To make it less bland I added some Parm cheese to the dough mix & reduced the water slightly.   At first I thought this was a huge disaster because it was still really goopy. Yuck. But once it rested & I pressed it out with some flour it worked out pretty well.

While the dough rested, I just vaguely followed the Tyler Florence recipe to make some sauce out of the canned tomatoes (which I drained & crushed), thyme, minced garlic, & some oregano.  It smelled amazing and tasted awesome with some nice chunky pieces of tomato and of course garlic (lovvveee garlic!).

So then obviously you just top the pizza with the sauce & slices of the fresh mozzarella, diced Roma tomatoes, basil & a drizzle of olive oil (Secret: I used freeze-dried basil instead of fresh! It stores better & you don’t waste any extra basil leaves! You still get great flavor!)  To get nice brown crust I brushed the edges of the dough with EVOO.

Into the oven it went (and of course I burned myself.. but what’s an adventure without a battle wound anyways?) and waited.

15 minutes later…

It was delicious!!! The crust was perfectly crisp & the sauce was nice and sweet.  I definitely enjoyed this pizza. I downed like half of it in 10 minutes. I definitely recommend this one to anyone needing a little break from typical delivered or frozen pizzas.

If you wanna try this, check out Tyler Florence’s recipe here:
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/margherita-pizza-recipe/index.html

My Tips:

  • Check out the freeze dried herbs at your grocery store & give them a try
  • Start the crust first so it can rest
  • If you like a lot of sauce maybe try two cans of tomatoes
  • Don’t burn yourself like I did

WE ARE…making delicious pizza!


One Response to “Pizza autentica di Margherita”

  1. jessica July 13, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    looks yummy

Leave a Reply

